Personal tools

The European Union (EU)



- Overview

European Union (EU), an international organization of 27 European countries that manages common economic, social and security policies. Initially limited to Western Europe, the EU expanded aggressively into Central and Eastern Europe in the early 2000s. The members of the EU are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania , Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. Britain, a founding member of the European Union, left the group in 2020. 

The European Union was created under the Maastricht Treaty, which entered into force on 1 November 1993. The treaty aims to strengthen Europe's right to political and economic integration by establishing a single currency (the euro), a unified foreign and security policy, and a common citizenship, and by advancing cooperation in immigration, asylum and judicial affairs. The European Union was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2012 in recognition of the organization's efforts to promote peace and democracy in Europe.

Please refer to European Union for more details.



 [More to come ...]


Document Actions